Der Artikel wird am Ende des Bestellprozesses zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt.

Polly of Penn's Place

A compelling saga of sibling rivalry and lost love
 EPUB
| Lieferzeit:3-5 Tage I
ISBN-13:
9780755382033
Einband:
EPUB
Seiten:
345
Autor:
Dee Williams
eBook Typ:
Adobe Digital Editions
eBook Format:
EPUB
Kopierschutz:
Adobe DRM [Hard-DRM]
Sprache:
Englisch
Beschreibung:

A stirring tale of a world and a family in the grip of war... Bitter feuds and lost loves threaten a young woman's happiness forever in Dee Williams' engrossing saga, Polly of Penn's Place. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp.'Flowers with the rich atmosphere of old Docklands London' - Manchester Evening NewsPolly Perkins and her older brother Sid have never really liked each other and when, in a fit of spite, he flicks a fishbone at her and accidentally blinds her in one eye, it seems to Polly that he has blighted her entire future. But life carries on in 1930s Rotherhithe and Polly, like the other tenants of Penn's Place, is soon caught up in its daily struggles: battling to keep treasured possessions from being sold at the pawn shop, to hold her own in the rows which rage through her warring family, and to find herself a job. In the latter she succeeds and, having started as a tea girl at Bloom's Fashions, to her delight is offered a job in the office. There her friendship with the prosperous Bloom family grows, in particular with Sarah and her handsome brother David, whose lifestyle in Putney is so different from her own.Meanwhile in Rotherhithe Polly finds herself being courted ever more insistently by Ron, Sid's best friend and, Polly sometimes suspects, his partner in crime. When in frustration he points out that, disfigured by her accident, Polly is lucky to get any suitors at all, she decides, reluctantly, to accept his proposal of marriage. But, as the country finds itself in the grip of war, it becomes clear that Sid - and her husband Ron - have jeopardised Polly's future once more. What readers are saying about Polly of Penn's Place: 'This is the kind of book you just cannot put down. It is the sort of book that you can imagine that you are in the book with all the characters; it is well written and certainly keeps your attention''I've recently discovered Dee Williams' books and this was yet another that I could not put down. A brilliant story with a surprise ending. Excellent''This is a lovely, heart-warming story, you don't want to put it down'
A stirring tale of a world and a family in the grip of war... Bitter feuds and lost loves threaten a young woman's happiness forever in Dee Williams' engrossing saga, Polly of Penn's Place. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp.'Flowers with the rich atmosphere of old Docklands London' - Manchester Evening NewsPolly Perkins and her older brother Sid have never really liked each other and when, in a fit of spite, he flicks a fishbone at her and accidentally blinds her in one eye, it seems to Polly that he has blighted her entire future. But life carries on in 1930s Rotherhithe and Polly, like the other tenants of Penn's Place, is soon caught up in its daily struggles: battling to keep treasured possessions from being sold at the pawn shop, to hold her own in the rows which rage through her warring family, and to find herself a job. In the latter she succeeds and, having started as a tea girl at Bloom's Fashions, to her delight is offered a job in the office. There her friendship with the prosperous Bloom family grows, in particular with Sarah and her handsome brother David, whose lifestyle in Putney is so different from her own.Meanwhile in Rotherhithe Polly finds herself being courted ever more insistently by Ron, Sid's best friend and, Polly sometimes suspects, his partner in crime. When in frustration he points out that, disfigured by her accident, Polly is lucky to get any suitors at all, she decides, reluctantly, to accept his proposal of marriage. But, as the country finds itself in the grip of war, it becomes clear that Sid - and her husband Ron - have jeopardised Polly's future once more. What readers are saying about Polly of Penn's Place: 'This is the kind of book you just cannot put down. It is the sort of book that you can imagine that you are in the book with all the characters; it is well written and certainly keeps your attention''I've recently discovered Dee Williams' books and this was yet another that I could not put down. A brilliant story with a surprise ending. Excellent''This is a lovely, heart-warming story, you don't want to put it down'

Kunden Rezensionen

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.