Der Artikel wird am Ende des Bestellprozesses zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt.

And One for Luck

A compelling saga of finding happiness in the direst of circumstances
 EPUB
| Lieferzeit:3-5 Tage I
ISBN-13:
9780755382088
Einband:
EPUB
Seiten:
375
Autor:
Lynda Page
eBook Typ:
Adobe Digital Editions
eBook Format:
EPUB
Kopierschutz:
Adobe DRM [Hard-DRM]
Sprache:
Englisch
Beschreibung:

When the Second World War threatens all, a remarkable woman finds happiness where she least expects it. And One For Luck is an inspiring saga from much-loved author Lynda Page, of a woman discovering happiness through the eye-opening events of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Kate Thompson and Pam Evans.Grace Wilkins and Bessie Rudney have been neighbours for over twenty years, but it takes the outbreak of World War Two for them to become friends. The more time Grace spends with Bessie, her six boisterous children and her loving husband Tom, the more she realises what has been missing from her own loveless marriage. As the war takes its toll on Leicester, and one by one the men folk leave to join the fighting, Grace finds comfort in helping others. Each day, as she takes on another new challenge, Grace realises that her daughter might have been right all along - it's time to break out, really make something of her life, and possibly find true love, before it's too late...What readers are saying about And One For Luck:'Right from the start this book had me gripped. The author's portrayal of struggle, hope and devastation suffered by a tight knit war torn neighbourhood had me in floods of tears, of sadness and joy. The sheer brilliance of Lynda Page's talent has had me scouring the shelves for more of her work. Never have I read anything so captivating and well written - I actually felt that I was there''A warm, comforting book. Lots of humour with good old values. Couldn't put it down. Delightfully British. Loved it'
When the Second World War threatens all, a remarkable woman finds happiness where she least expects it. And One For Luck is an inspiring saga from much-loved author Lynda Page, of a woman discovering happiness through the eye-opening events of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Kate Thompson and Pam Evans.Grace Wilkins and Bessie Rudney have been neighbours for over twenty years, but it takes the outbreak of World War Two for them to become friends. The more time Grace spends with Bessie, her six boisterous children and her loving husband Tom, the more she realises what has been missing from her own loveless marriage. As the war takes its toll on Leicester, and one by one the men folk leave to join the fighting, Grace finds comfort in helping others. Each day, as she takes on another new challenge, Grace realises that her daughter might have been right all along - it's time to break out, really make something of her life, and possibly find true love, before it's too late...What readers are saying about And One For Luck:'Right from the start this book had me gripped. The author's portrayal of struggle, hope and devastation suffered by a tight knit war torn neighbourhood had me in floods of tears, of sadness and joy. The sheer brilliance of Lynda Page's talent has had me scouring the shelves for more of her work. Never have I read anything so captivating and well written - I actually felt that I was there''A warm, comforting book. Lots of humour with good old values. Couldn't put it down. Delightfully British. Loved it'

Kunden Rezensionen

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.