Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

A web of scandal and deceit in Victorian London
 EPUB
Sofort lieferbar | Lieferzeit: Sofort lieferbar I
ISBN-13:
9781472227577
Einband:
EPUB
Seiten:
320
Autor:
Anne Perry
Serie:
Thomas Pitt Mystery
Sprache:
Englisch
Beschreibung:

A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy - is there more to this case than meets the eye? In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman's sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes' - Cleveland Plain Dealer The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London's most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt's efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding. All evidence points to Arthur's tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don't believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy's family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman's noose. What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields: 'A thought-provoking whodunit''Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable''Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars'
A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy - is there more to this case than meets the eye? In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman's sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes' - Cleveland Plain Dealer The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London's most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt's efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding. All evidence points to Arthur's tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don't believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy's family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman's noose. What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields: 'A thought-provoking whodunit''Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable''Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars'

Kunden Rezensionen

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.